Ruby Compatibility Requirements

Ruby Compatibility Requirements

Compatibility

The Ruby Datadog Trace library is open source - view the Github repository for more information.

Supported Ruby interpreters:

Type Documentation Version Support type Gem version support
MRI https://www.ruby-lang.org/ 2.7 Full Latest
2.6 Full Latest
2.5 Full Latest
2.4 Full Latest
2.3 Full Latest
2.2 Full Latest
2.1 Full Latest
2.0 Maintenance (until June 7th, 2021) < 0.50.0
1.9.3 Maintenance (until August 6th, 2020) < 0.27.0
1.9.1 Maintenance (until August 6th, 2020) < 0.27.0
JRuby https://www.jruby.org 9.2 Full Latest

Supported web servers:

Type Documentation Version Support type
Puma http://puma.io/ 2.16+ / 3.6+ Full
Unicorn https://bogomips.org/unicorn/ 4.8+ / 5.1+ Full
Passenger https://www.phusionpassenger.com/ 5.0+ Full

Supported tracing frameworks:

Type Documentation Version Gem version support
OpenTracing https://github.com/opentracing/opentracing-ruby 0.4.1+ (w/ Ruby 2.1+) >= 0.16.0

Full support indicates Datadog supports all tracer features.

Deprecated indicates Datadog support will transition to Maintenance in a future release.

Maintenance indicates Datadog will only patch critical bugfixes.

EOL indicates Datadog is no longer providing support.

Integration instrumentation

Many popular libraries and frameworks are supported out-of-the-box, which can be auto-instrumented. Although they are not activated automatically, they can be activated and configured by using the Datadog.configure API:

Datadog.configure do |c|
  # Activates and configures an integration
  c.use :integration_name, options
end

options is a Hash of integration-specific configuration settings.

For a list of available integrations, and their configuration options, please refer to the following:

Name Key Versions Supported: MRI Versions Supported: JRuby How to configure Gem source
Action Cable action_cable >= 5.0 >= 5.0 Link Link
Action View action_view >= 3.0 >= 3.0 Link Link
Active Model Serializers active_model_serializers >= 0.9 >= 0.9 Link Link
Action Pack action_pack >= 3.0 >= 3.0 Link Link
Active Record active_record >= 3.0 >= 3.0 Link Link
Active Support active_support >= 3.0 >= 3.0 Link Link
AWS aws >= 2.0 >= 2.0 Link Link
Concurrent Ruby concurrent_ruby >= 0.9 >= 0.9 Link Link
Dalli dalli >= 2.0 >= 2.0 Link Link
DelayedJob delayed_job >= 4.1 >= 4.1 Link Link
Elasticsearch elasticsearch >= 1.0 >= 1.0 Link Link
Ethon ethon >= 0.11 >= 0.11 Link Link
Excon excon >= 0.50 >= 0.50 Link Link
Faraday faraday >= 0.14 >= 0.14 Link Link
Grape grape >= 1.0 >= 1.0 Link Link
GraphQL graphql >= 1.7.9 >= 1.7.9 Link Link
gRPC grpc >= 1.7 gem not available Link Link
http.rb httprb >= 2.0 >= 2.0 Link Link
Kafka ruby-kafka >= 0.7.10 >= 0.7.10 Link Link
MongoDB mongo >= 2.1 >= 2.1 Link Link
MySQL2 mysql2 >= 0.3.21 gem not available Link Link
Net/HTTP http (Any supported Ruby) (Any supported Ruby) Link Link
Presto presto >= 0.5.14 >= 0.5.14 Link Link
Racecar racecar >= 0.3.5 >= 0.3.5 Link Link
Rack rack >= 1.1 >= 1.1 Link Link
Rails rails >= 3.0 >= 3.0 Link Link
Rake rake >= 12.0 >= 12.0 Link Link
Redis redis >= 3.2 >= 3.2 Link Link
Resque resque >= 1.0, < 2.0 >= 1.0, < 2.0 Link Link
Rest Client rest-client >= 1.8 >= 1.8 Link Link
Sequel sequel >= 3.41 >= 3.41 Link Link
Shoryuken shoryuken >= 3.2 >= 3.2 Link Link
Sidekiq sidekiq >= 3.5.4 >= 3.5.4 Link Link
Sinatra sinatra >= 1.4 >= 1.4 Link Link
Sneakers sneakers >= 2.12.0 >= 2.12.0 Link Link
Sucker Punch sucker_punch >= 2.0 >= 2.0 Link Link

Further Reading

Additional helpful documentation, links, and articles: