User Management

User Management

The Datadog for Government site only supports SAML login.

Datadog’s User tab in Organization Settings allows you to manage your users and their associated roles. Switch between list and grid views by clicking List View or Grid View on the right.

Add new members and manage invites

To add members to your organization:

  1. Go to the Organization Settings page, then click the Users tab.
  2. Click Invite Users in the upper right corner of the page.
  3. Enter the email address of the user you wish to invite to your Datadog account.
  4. Assign one or more user roles to the users. Note: Users with the Invite User permission can invite a user to any role they have themselves. Users with both the Invite User and Access Management permissions can invite a user to any role.
  5. Click Send Invites.

The new user receives an email with a link to log in. The user is marked with the status Invite Pending until they log in. To cancel their invite before they log in, click the Delete Invite button on the right of the user line in list view, or on the user box in grid view.

To resend an invite in list view, click the user to open the user side panel and click Resend Invite. Or in grid view, hover over the user box and click Resend Invite.

Edit a user’s roles

Only users with the Access Management permission, such as users with the Datadog Admin Role, can change another user’s role.

To edit a user’s roles:

  1. Go to the Users tab of Organization Settings.
  2. Select the Edit button on the right of the user line.
  3. Select the new user roles for this user, or click the ‘X’ next to an existing role to remove it.
  4. Save the new settings.

To discover all of the roles available and how to create custom ones, see the Role Based Access Control documentation.

Disable existing members

Only users with the Access Management permission, such as users with the Datadog Admin Role, can disable members. You cannot permanently remove users, as they might have authored dashboards or monitors, and their user ID is used to keep a record of their actions. When a user is disabled, any application keys they had generated are automatically revoked.

  1. Go to the Users tab of Organization Settings.
  2. Select the Edit button on the right of the user line.
  3. Click on the Disable toggle.
  4. Save the changes.
  5. Confirm the action.

Note: By default, disabled users are filtered out from the list of users in the User Management Page. If you have the correct permissions, you can filter by users with the status Disabled and re-enable them.

Further Reading