Enabling versioning on a Google Cloud Storage bucket ensures that previous versions of objects are preserved, preventing accidental or malicious data loss or overwrites. Without versioning enabled (for example, versioning = { enabled = false } or omitting the versioning block entirely), deleted or overwritten objects cannot be recovered, increasing the risk of permanent data loss. To mitigate this risk, enable versioning by setting versioning = { enabled = true } in your Terraform configuration: