Version History for Notebooks

이 페이지는 아직 한국어로 제공되지 않으며 번역 작업 중입니다. 번역에 관한 질문이나 의견이 있으시면 언제든지 저희에게 연락해 주십시오.

Overview

Version History automatically tracks changes made to your notebooks and saves previous versions so you can see exactly what was changed and by whom. You can view previous versions, restore your notebook to any saved version, or clone a version to create a new notebook.

Prerequisites

All notebooks have a default 30 days retention of version history. In order to see any previous versions, an edit must be made within the last 30 days.

With Audit Trail enabled, the version history is extended from 30 days to 90 days. After enabling Audit Trail, you are able to see any edits made between 30 to 90 days ago on all existing notebooks.

View versions

From a notebook, click the Configure icon and click Version History to open the Version History side panel. If there are no edits within the retention period, the Version History option is disabled.

Disabled version history option in a notebook

In the Version History side panel, for each version you can see:

  • Which Datadog user made the change
  • The date and time of the change
  • A summary of the change and a detailed change description of the version to its predecessor

Preview a version

From the Version History side panel, click on a version to preview what your notebook would look like if you choose to restore to that version. Click on any version to scroll to the location of the change and highlight any widgets or cells that were changed.

Note: Clicking on a version to preview it does not save any changes or impact what other users see until you actively choose to restore to that version.

Restore a version

There are two ways you can restore your notebook to a previous version.

Example notebooks showing version history options
  • From the Version History side panel, after you choose the version to restore, click the kebab menu to the right of a user profile and select Restore this version.
  • When the Version History side panel opens up, a button appears at the top of the page to Restore this version.

Restoring a version updates the notebook to that version for all users and a new entry is added to the version history showing the restore. This does not overwrite the history of your changes, so you are still able preview and restore to any versions within your retention period.

Clone a version

If you do not want to change your current notebook but you’d like to create a copy of a previous version, you can create a clone from any version in your version history. From the Version History side panel after you choose the version you want to make a copy of, click the kebab menu to the right of a user profile and select Clone.

Version History retention

Retention Period
Audit Trail Disabled30 days
Audit Trail Enabled90 days

Further reading